October 3, 2023

Inaugural MCW Over 40s Cricket Global Cup signs off with impressive closing ceremony


Pakistan News & Features Services

The curtain fell on the inaugural MCW Over 40s Cricket Global Cup, after a couple of weeks of fun and excitement, with an impressive closing ceremony at Hotel Pearl Continental, Karachi, on October 2. Nadeem Omar, owner of Quetta Gladiators, was the chief guest on the occasion. The tournament, contested by eight countries, had kicked off on September 19. 

Fawad Ijaz Khan, Chairman, Pakistan Veterans Cricket Association (PVCA), in his welcome address, observed that, having participated in all four previous editions of World Cup, Pakistan got the opportunity to host the Global Cup for the first time and we tried our level best to excel in every single organizational aspect to make it a memorable event for all participants and stakeholders.

“We had to change name from World Cup to Global Cup at the eleventh hour because of a special request received from the International Cricket Council (ICC). Moving forward, the ICC will not allow use of word World Cup in any future Veteran Tournaments,” he shared.

The PVCA Chairman congratulated the Pakistan team on winning the tournament, making special of five Test cricketers, Shahid Afridi, Misbah-ul-Haq, Abdul Razzaq, Muhammad Sami and Hassan Raza for being part of the home squad. 

 He thanked his colleagues at the PVCA as well as the support staff for having worked tirelessly to make the tournament a success story. He acknowledged the contribution of the sponsors, the government officials and the ground authorities in making the arduous task of hosting an event of this magnitude possible despite the numerous challenges. 

Earlier in the day, the prize distribution ceremony was conducted at National Bank Stadium soon after the conclusion of the final in which Pakistan defeated West Indies by 152 runs to be crowned as world champions. Australia took third position while United States of America (USA) finished fourth. United Arab Emirates (UAE), unable to qualify for semifinals, emerged the plate champions with Hong Kong taking sixth position. Canada and Nepal ended seventh and eighth respectively. 

Fawad Ijaz Khan, Chairman, PVCA, presented the winners’ trophy to the Pakistan skipper, Misbah-ul-Haq, who was adjudged Player of the Match in the final for his brilliant century. Muhammad Farrukh, who captained United States of America (USA), was declared Player of the tournament for his consistent all-round performance. 

Among other individual awards, Pakistan’s left-arm spinner Abdul Qadir was chosen as the best bowler of the tournament and Nepal’s opening batter Rabin Joshi was adjudged the best batsman of the tournament. Steve Paulsen of Australia and Randy Thomas of West Indies were voted as the best fielder and the best wicketkeeper of the tournament respectively. 

Pakistan’s chief selector, Ajaz Faqueih, announced a team of the tournament on the occasion which comprised of Abdul Razzaq (Pakistan), Amjad Ali (Pakistan), Rabin Joshi (Nepal), Misbah-ul-Haq (Pakistan), Narsingh Deonarine (West Indies), Muhammad Farrukh (USA), Randy Thomas (West Indies), Tassawar Abbas (Pakistan), Ankur Vasishta (Hong Kong), Ajay Sharma (USA), Mark Leard (Australia) and Abdul Qadir (Pakistan). Abdul Razzaq was chosen as captain with Muhammad Farrukh being his deputy. 

Nadeem Omar, owner of Quetta Gladiators, and Sameet of MCW Sports, were also present in the presentation party alongwith the PVCA functionaries Fawad Ijaz Khan (Chairman), Amer Ilyas Butt (CEO), and Amir Sarfaraz (Secretary) besides its Directors Alamgir Ahmed, Fazal Jilani, Haji Ashraf, Dr Asjad Ali and Amjad Islam.

readmore »»

Recent Posts