May 19, 2014

Golden Eagles, SPM Stags storm into 16th National Seniors Cup regional final


Pakistan News & Features Services

Golden Eagles and SPM Stags stormed into the Punjab regional final of the 16th National Seniors Cup Cricket Tournament 2014 as they overwhelmed Aftab Qarshi XI and Chaudhary Sports respectively in the semifinals at Lahore on May 18.

The regional final, between Golden Eagles and SPM Stags, will be played on May 25 and its winners will take on the southern region champions, Omar Associates, in the final on June 1. 

The event is being jointly sponsored by Arif Habib Corporation Limited and Omar Associates (Pvt) Limited. 

Golden Eagles overpowered Aftab Qarshi XI by six wickets at the Aligarh Ground while SPM Stags overcame Chaudhary Sports by seven wickets at LCCA Cricket Ground. 

Batting first, Aftab Qarshi XI was bowled out for 228 in 29.2 overs with Qadeer Khan (56), Farooq Shahzad (42), Sohail Idrees (28) and Faraz Hussain (26) being their leading scorers. The innings was wrecked by Shahid Anwar (4-32) and Javed Hayat (3-44) with Chaudhary Tajammul (2-41), Shan Shahid (1-37) and Sajjad Akbar (1-53) being the other wicket-takers. 

Golden Eagles reached the target of 229 for the loss of four wickets in 26.2 overs as Mohammad Shahbaz led the victory charge with a polished knock of 108 containing a six and 18 fours. Shahid Anwar (41), Naseer Ahmad (37), Salman Khan (16) and Nadeem Farooqi (17 not out) also contributed their bit while Aftab Qarshi, Tahir Saeed and Mohsin Aftab were the successful bowlers for Aftab Qarshi XI. 

The prize distribution ceremony was held soon after the conclusion of the match in which chief guest Nawab Ashiq Hussain Qureshi, Chief Executive Officer, Pakistan Veterans Cricket Association (PVCA), presented cash awards to Shahid Anwar and Mohammad Shahbaz for their outstanding performance. 

In the other semifinal, Chaudhary Sports was all out for 211 in 30 overs with Kashif Latif (45), Abid Sheikh (30), Khalid Habib (36) and Mohammad Naeem (30) making notable contributions while the wickets were shared between Zahid Khan (4-34), Shakeel Malik (3/-24), Zahoor Elahi (2/30), Imtiaz Tarar (1-27) and Rehan Rauf (1-45). 

SPM Stags raced to the target of 212 in 25.1 overs, losing only three wickets. Kamran Khan (60), Karamat Ali (48), Zahoor Elahi (46 not out) and Zahir Umar (39 not out) batted brilliantly while Mohammad Sami (1-30) and Raza Khan (1-34) were the only wicket-takers for Chaudhary Sports bowling.

readmore »»

Recent Posts