April 24, 2014

Omar Associates to combat Moin Khan Academy in National Seniors Cup final


Pakistan News & Features Services 

Omar Associates will lock horns with Moin Khan Academy in the Southern Region final of the 16th National Seniors Cup Cricket Tournament 2014 at the National Stadium, Karachi, on April 27.

Arif Habib, Chairman Arif Habib Corporation Limited, will be chief guest in the presentation ceremony, to be presided over by Fawad Ijaz Khan, Chairman, Pakistan Veterans Cricket Association (PVCA), while Nadeem Omar, Director, Omar Associates (Pvt) Limited, will be the guest of honour. The match is due start at 11 am. 

The winners of the regional final between Omar Associates and Moin Khan Academy will take on the winners of the other region in National final due to be staged in Lahore next month. The annual tournament, organized by the PVCA, is being sponsored by Arif Habib Corporation and Omar Associates (Pvt) Limited, offering cash awards of Rs 805,000. 

As in the past, the PVCA National Seniors Cup has attracted a lot of former Test and international cricketers. Quite a few of them will be in action on Sunday with the likes of Moin Khan, Rashid Latif, Nadeem Khan, Ghulam Ali and Mahmood Hamid to take the field for Moin Khan Academy and Sajid Ali to play for Omar Associates. 

Saleem Malik, Aamer Sohail, Manzoor Elahi, Zahoor Elahi, Mujahid Jamshed, Shahid Anwar, Ashraf Ali and P J Mir have also appeared for their respective teams in this season’s National Seniors Cup. 

The regional final, between Omar Associates and Moin Khan Academy, is expected to be a keenly contested affair as they have reached there by having knocked over Hyderabad and Karachi Friends respectively in the semifinals. 

Omar Associates: Jaffer Qureshi (captain), Sajid Ali, Nadeem Shaikh, Iqbal Shaikh, Irfan Ali, Saifullah Magsi, Mohammad Sardar, Azhar Khan, K K Mahmood, Nadeem Musa, Mohammad Yousuf, Izhar Ahmed, Ahmed Hayat and Babar Qureshi. 
Moin Khan Academy: Moin Khan (captain), Asim Jah, Rashid Latif, Nadeem Khan, Ghulam Ali, Mahmood Hamid, Dr Kamal, Omar Masood, Asif Siddiqui, Aziz-ur-Rahman, Shahadat Karim, Qamar Ibrahim, Habib-ur-Rahman and Zafar Ali. Umpires: Syed Wasiuddin and Rehan Khan. Referee: Babar Basharat.

readmore »»

Recent Posts