November 2, 2016

Kamran Public School storm into Omar Trophy Inter-School Cricket semifinals


Pakistan News &  Features Services

Kamran Public School stormed into the semifinals of the Omar Trophy Inter-School Cricket Tournament 2016, being organized by the Pakistan Veterans Cricket Association (PVCA), by whipping Oasis English Secondary School by 89 runs in the quarter-finals at the Naya Nazimabad Lawai Stadium.

Qadri Public School had already entered semifinals after having knocked out St Patrick High School in the first quarter-final. In the remaining quarter-finals, Fahad Academy will be up against Ebrahim Ali Bhai School and Beaconhouse School System will take on Springfield School. 

Choosing to bat, after winning the toss, Kamran Public School amassed an impressive total of 241 for six in the allotted 40 overs. Oasis English Secondary School, in reply, was bowled out for 143 in 30.5 overs. 

Kamran Public School got off a flying start as the 101-run opening partnership between Anas Ilyas and Tariq Bakht laid the foundation for a big score. 

Tariq Bakht departed after making 35 off 44 balls with the help of four boundaries but Anas Ilyas stayed longer, contributing 87 off 83 balls with the help of one six and four fours. 

Oasis English Secondary School stemmed the flow of runs through leg-spinner Talha Ahsan (3-43) but Kamran Public School succeeded in raising the total past 225, thanks to the fighting unbroken 49-run seventh wicket stand between Abdul Moiz (42 off 38 balls) and Osama Adnan (24 off 32 balls). 

Chasing a target of 229 in 40 overs, Oasis English Secondary School also started their innings on a positive note with openers Mohammad Saeed (43 off 43 balls) and Mohammad Kashan (21 off 19 balls) adding 63 for the first wicket in rapid time. 

The complexion of the game changed dramatically when both the openers were run out in quick succession. Kamran Public School regained control through the spin trio of Obaidullah (3-26), Osama Adnan (3-33) and Mohammad Ovais (2-21) as Oasis English Secondary School lost their last seven wickets for only 63 to be all out for 152. 

Kamran Public School’s opening batsman Anas Ilyas was adjudged Man of the Match for his 87, edging out skipper Osama Adnan, who claimed three wickets besides scoring an unbeaten 24.


Recent Posts