October 5, 2014

Victories for Beaconhouse School, Aga Khan School in HBL Inter-Schools cricket


Pakistan News & Features Services

Beaconhouse School North Nazimabad and Aga Khan Higher Secondary School won their respective matches in the HBL Inter-School Cricket Tournament 2014, being organized by the Pakistan Veterans Cricket Association (PVCA). 

Beaconhouse School whipped CAA Model School by 107 runs in their Group E game at the Hussain Lawai Naya Nazimabad Stadium while Aga Khan School trounced Falconhouse Grammar School by 77 runs in their Group C encounter at the KCCA Stadium. 

Batting first, after winning the toss, Beaconhouse School collapsed to 199 all out in 36.3 overs, losing their last seven wickets for 28 runs. They were put in commanding position by opener Ahmed Iman (44 off 59 balls), Ammar Iqbal (40 off 35 balls) and Ahmed Salman (37 off 55 balls) while the lower order was rocked by the spin duo of Osama Mohsin (3-39) and Hafiz Hammad (2-11). 

Chasing a target of 200 in 40 overs, CAA School lost their top-order cheaply with medium-pacers Ahmed Fahim (3-16) and Hammaduddin (2-13) causing serious damage with the new ball. They were bowled out for 92 in 29.1 overs despite Agha Sarfaraz’s 27 off 48 balls with leg-spinner Maaz Bin Salman picking up the last three wickets. 

In the other game, Omar Shahid struck one six and six fours in his 96 off 109 balls to guide Aga Khan School to a competitive total of 222 as the quartet of Waqas Farid (2-26), Umairuddin Fakhri (2-33), Arsalan Nadeem (2-49) and Omar Tayyab (2-57) shared the bowling honours. 

Falconhouse Grammar School lost wickets at regular intervals to be bowled out for 145 in 33.4 overs with Zain Haider (46 off 42 balls), Abdullah Ahmed (28 off 34 balls) and Mohsin Ali (26 off 63 balls) being their leading scorers while their innings was wrecked by off-spinner Waqar Alam (2-22) and medium-pacer Hasan Ashraf (2-36).


Recent Posts