October 29, 2008

Mahmood Lodhi, Amir Karim perform consistently in WMSG chess


By Syed Khalid Mahmood

Mahmood Ahmed Lodhi and Amir Karim came up with exceptional performance against tough opponents in the rapid chess team event during the inaugural World Mind Sports Games (WMSG) that concluded in Beijing, China, on October 18.

Mr Tariq Rasheed Khan, Pakistan’s chef de mission during the WMSG, revealed upon his return from Beijing that Mahmood Lodhi and Amir Karim gave very fine account of themselves in the chess championship against the toughest of opponents in the team championship.

“The other three members of the Pakistan chess squad, Mohammad Waqar, Hasib Ahmed and Khalil-ur-Rahman did not match the consistency of Mahmood Lodhi and Amir Karim, however,” he remarked.

In the rapid chess team event, Pakistan lost to Brazil 1-3 in the first round with Mahmood Lodhi winning the game against Alexander Fier. Pakistan was beaten 0.5-3.5 by Austria in the second round with Mahmood Lodhi having drawn his game with Markus Ragger.

Pakistan drew with Norway 2-2 in the third round as Mahmood Lodhi and Amir Karim overpowered Espen Forsaa and Ostebo Lasse Lovik respectively. Japan was also held to a 2-2 draw by Pakistan in the fourth round with Mahmood Lodhi and Amir Karim emerging triumphant once more.

Khalil-ur-Rahman Butt’s win over Abdullah Mohsin helped Pakistan overpower Iraq 3-1 in the fifth round after Mahmood Lodhi and Amir Karim had toppled H A Hussain and Ahmed Ali Laith respectively.

Spain overcame Pakistan 3.5-0.5 in the sixth round with Mahmood Lodhi managing to draw his game with Kaido Kulaots.

Mahmood Lodhi suffered his first defeat in the seventh round at the hands of Mongolia’s Cegmed Batchulun as Pakistan lost the match 1-3 despite Amir Karim’s win over Namhai Battulga.

Pakistan salvaged a 2-2 draw against South Korea in the eighth round even after shocking defeat of Mahmood Lodhi at the hands of Kiyul Lee. Amir Karim and Hasib Ahmed won their games to earn an unlikely draw.

Pakistan suffered a 1-3 defeat at the hands of Israel in the ninth round with Hasib Ahmed emerging as the lone winner.

Pakistan signed off with a crushing 4-0 win over Macau in the tenth and final round in which the quartet of Mahmood Lodhi, Amir Karim, Mohammad Waqar and Hasib Ahmed outwitted their respective opponents.


Recent Posts